How to Turn Off New Post Notifications on LinkedIn

Turning Off LinkedIn Post Notifications

It started a while back when LinkedIn opened up their publishing platform (now called “Pulse”) to a limited range of people that they considered a “LinkedIn Influencer.” It was a way for widely-known business or industry leaders (think Richard Branson, Seth Godin, Mark Cuban, or Deepak Chopra) to share unique insight and wisdom in the form of article posts on LinkedIn.

And then it happened … LinkedIn opened up the Pulse publishing platform to EVERYBODY.

That was a big mistake – here’s why.

LinkedIn Posts Gone Wild!

Now, anyone and their brother can start a new post, spew out content, and publish it on LinkedIn Pulse.  All of a sudden, your LinkedIn Notifications (that little Red flag at the top) are lighting up with loads of new alerts everyday that say:

John Doe Published a New Post
Jane Doe Published a New Post
Jim Doe Published a New Post

And unfortunately now that it’s open to a wider audience, most of those new posts are crappy, shallow, self-promotional articles or sales pitches that have very little value.

With so many posts and much more noise, it’s harder to find the articles from industry leaders that provide unique perspective and are genuinely insightful.

So for those of you that are tired of sifting through all the spam and low-value content, here’s how to turn off new post notifications in LinkedIn.

Unsubscribing from New Post Notifications on LinkedIn

Unsubscribe to LinkedIn Post NotificationsIt’s really simple actually.

To stop receiving publishing notifications from a particular connection:

  1. Move your cursor over the Flag icon at the top right of your homepage.
  2. Move your cursor over any of the notifications that appear in the drop-down.
  3. Click the “X” in the top right of the notification box.
  4. You’ll be asked: “Unsubscribe from [your connection’s] article updates?”
  5. Click Unsubscribe.

NOT the Same as Removing a Connection

It’s worth mentioning that unsubscribing from new post notifications is NOT the same as unfollowing a member or removing a LinkedIn connection. You’re still connected with him or her and will still see their LinkedIn “shares” and status updates in your main feed on LinkedIn – you’re just muting notifications of their new posts on the “LinkedIn Pulse” publishing platform.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *